Unable to flash

I am having such a hard time with flashing the BBB. I am guessing it is an A6A revision based on the wiki. I am not a novice when it comes to flashing but for some reason this bugger wont flash. I have followed the instructions to a T and results are not forth coming. Do you think I could have a bad board? When I I load the image to the card and press the user boot button I do not get the LED response that is said to happen after flash. I have used cheap 8gb SD card and a sandisk 16gb SD card and both same outcome. Nothing. I need a board that works for a P-port cape project.

KG

With a proper image it should flash.

http://elinux.org/Beagleboard:Debian_On_BeagleBone_Black

http://elinux.org/Beagleboard:Ubuntu_On_BeagleBone_Black

Problem with the A6A i believe will be old bootloader versus new bootloader. e.g. Angstrom + old bootloader on the eMMC, newer bootloader + Debian on the sdcard flasher image.

With that said, you should wait for Robert to chime in before taking drastic steps. Such as believing your board is bad. It is not impossible, but I think it is very unlikely.

Ah, I suppose it could also be an available space issue, but the reason why I mentioned the above first, was that we have two A5A’s here, and with recent Debian images, I’ve had to hold the button down until the board starts to boot. Where in the past, this was never a problem. Of course, I’m booting from sdcard too, but I have Angstrom with 3.8.8 kernel on the board ( upgraded once ). SO that should tell you how old the image + bootloader is on our boards . . .

So with that being said what would be the best way to flash this to use more recent bootloaders?

Kevin Groce