USB Audio on BBGW/BBB using also and mpg321 : Distorted/clipped/too fast playback

Hi all,

I’m still pretty new to my BBB / BBGW (I prefer the BBGW simply because of it’s inbuilt wifi - real simple).
So, I’m running on a SEED BeagleBone Green Wireless.
with Debian / Linux 8 : 2016-06-14. The system is up to date - as of now.
I’m running headless via wi-fi ssh on Terminal (Mac Sierra).
and I’m trying to add sound playback of mp3 / wav files.

So Far:

I’ve installed / updated alsa and alsa-utils.
I’ve plugged in a standard 10$ USB sound stick form EC Technology - some post suggest I get this one - I’m ambivalent as to the precise device but the smaller the better : https://www.amazon.co.uk/EC-Technology-Adapter-Window-above/dp/B012W70XH8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1486650199&sr=8-1&keywords=EC-Technology+usb+sound+Adapter
I’m also happy to switch to a new device if there is an even smaller / better / more readily hackable device available - but that’s probably for another time - suggestions always welcome though !)

I’ve used ‘aplay -l’ to confirm the USB device exists :
card0:WILINK8_BT… device 0: WILIINK8 …
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card1: Device [USB Audio Device], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]

I have reconfigured the alsa device file (/usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf) to direct audio to the USB card (defaults.ctl.card 1 and defaults.pcm.card 1) and not the BT module and I can hear pink noise (sound-test) from the connected USB Audio stick & speakers / headphones following an alsa restart / system reboot.
I have installed mpg321 and, more recently, madplay.
I have dumped some ripped mp3 music files into a ‘Music’ directory on uSDCard and can hear the output with :
mpg321 -g 50 /media/uSDCard/Music/MyMusicTrack.mp3

The sound that I hear appears to be ‘clipped’. It is distorted and plays back too fast but with no increase in pitch etc. just like a broken / poor 'phone connection.