Virtual BeagleBone Development Tool

Hello,

There are times when I setup virtual instances of Debian to create development environments for certain web/programming projects…things that are a little more involved, or I don’t want to incorporate on my existing local machine. This has worked very well for me this far. I can always go back to a project, with all it’s software and dependencies and “out-dated” software versions just as they were, and it works every time. I don’t have to worry that a new version of PHP came out - which I use on a new project - and as a result, an old project doesn’t work anymore, etc.

This brings me to my purpose for writing today:

I’ve been doing BeagleBone development for about 3 months now. And a thought came to me today, as I have different boards for different projects. I would like to do something similar for my BeagleBone projects that I do for my other programming projects.

I know that I could install the BeagleBone OS on a Virtual machine, but there is nothing to represent the hardware and what it is doing - if you write something to talk I2C, you will get errors since there is no hardware support for that and the rest of the OS will reflect the same.

But I think it would be pretty awesome if there was a virtual environment with some sort of graphical representation of the activity on the pins and peripherals of the BeagleBone device.

Not only would this allow me to develop entire projects on the PC before I invest into any hardware, but it basically allows me to try the same code on different versions of the BeagleBone. If the GUI side of this virtual environment had drag and drop “sensors” and motors and things of that nature, I could actually read in “data” and actually “turn motors” as if it were real life.

Development would be much faster, conceptual projects could be put together faster, and I think all around it could improve my quality of work.