Weird behaviour with pins and PRUs

Hello,

I am a beginner in PRU and embedded programming in general so I apologize if I am missing something obvious.

I am trying to implement an audio processing algorithm (CIC filter) to run on the PRUs. To do so, I need to generate a CLK signal for the microphone, which I generate on PRU0, output from PRU0 to pin P8.11 and I then connect the mic’s CLK pin to this pin directly. However, I also need to be able to read the CLK signal from PRU1, so I figured I would plug the CLK signal generated by PRU0 to pin P8.46 which I then poll from PRU1.

Doing this gives strange results though. As soon as I connect P8.11 (output CLK) to P8.46 (input CLK), the CLK signal from P8.11 gets stuck at Vdd. If I unplug it it will remain stuck at Vdd. Even restarting both programs (the clock generating one on PRU0 and the audio processing one on PRU1) does not fix the issue. Only restarting the Beaglebone does. I checked the voltage of P8.46 and it is always at 0.

I tried running only the PRU0 CLK program and the issue does not happen, it looks like the PRU1 program causes some issues.

Here is the code for the PRU0 CLK program :

/* Code for the clock generated by PRU0 and sent to the microphone. */
.origin 0
.entrypoint TOP

#include “prudefs.hasm”

#define CYCLES 39
#define CLK_PIN r30.b1

TOP:
MOV r0, CYCLES
_LOOP:
SUB r0, r0, 1
QBNE _LOOP, r0, 0

// Toggle CLK signal
XOR CLK_PIN, CLK_PIN, 1 << 7

QBA TOP

And here is the code for the PRU1 audio program (sorry it’s a little long) :

#define PRU1_ARM_INTERRUPT 20

// Input pins offsets
#define CLK_OFFSET 1
#define DATA_OFFSET 0

// Register aliases
#define IN_PINS r31
#define SAMPLE_COUNTER r5
#define WAIT_COUNTER r6
#define TMP_REG r7
#define BYTE_COUNTER r8

#define HOST_MEM r20
// Host mem size is multiple of 8, this is ensured on the host side
#define HOST_MEM_SIZE r21
#define LOCAL_MEM r22
// Defined in page 19 of the AM335x PRU-ICSS Reference guide
#define LOCAL_MEM_ADDR 0x2000