What development environment is suitable for professional applications, bonescript or C++

Hi,

Hardware: BeagleBone Black

I am new to the BBB, and also to cloud based development, so please be patient.

Most of the programs I intend to develop with the BBB generate pulses on digital outputs, read state of digital inputs, read analogue voltages on ADC pins of the BBB. The program will also get data from ethernet port, serial port. Interface to external hardware via SPI and I2C is also required.

I know most of the above jobs are being done by BBB developers, but I am a bit confused about which development environment would be suitable for me.

I find the Cloud9 IDE easy, bonescript looks very simple enough, as it is based on javascript (so well documented).

On the other hand C++ looks comprehensive, the coding for flashing a LED is longer than the code generated in Cloud9. Do professional developers prefer C++ for developing applications on BBB ?

is there any advantage in using C++, apart from familiarity ?? Are C++ applications more stable ??
On the other hand the bonescript has a less steep learning curve than C++.

I am interested in knowing what most people are using, as I think this will dictate the future trend.

thanks
a

There isn't really a 'professional' language. There is however, the task at hand, and suitable programming languages. Depending on what you are trying to achieve either language would be suitable.

Myself, I prefer C; purely down to familiarity, power, widespread usage and availability of numerous libraries.

I would say that C/C++ would be better, if you’re willing to spend some time learning both languages. Simply put, a scripting language may be as fast, or nearly as fast as the same application written with a language so that it runs nativly. The native application will almost always, if not always use less processor time to do the same task.