Why use C/C++ file I/O to access GPIO pins?

Greetings all,
I’ve been playing with software and hardware for 30+ years, but I’m new to Linux and embedded Linux systems. The code snippets I’ve been able to find for GPIO access all seem use file I/O functions. I’ve never seen this approach before – I’m accustomed to reading and writing processor registers. The file I/O approach seems strange to me, but I’m new here, and there’s a lot that seems strange.

So, can someone explain why the file I/O approach is used? Is this a typical technique for Linux systems, or something particular to ARM processors? I suppose it doesn’t really matter, but I prefer to understand why things are done as they are.

Thanks very much, folks.

Yours in newness,
Tim

I think…

It’s one of UNIX system base, that everything is a file.
It is a common way of doing things in different platforms. For example: gpio registers in 8051 are different from PIC, and different from AVR, and so on. On a Linux (at least at user space), there is a common interface to access gpio. Gives you much more portability. You can run the same code in different processors.

Jerônimo Lopes

So, I’m guessing it’s a case of sacrificing performance for portability and robustness. My first reaction is that it seems odd, but then again — make it work before you make it faster.
Thanks!

If you have something that just needs to switch something on / off once in a while( less than 200 Hz ) why would you need to complicate things ?

If you need fast though, a PRU + mmap can achieve fairly “insane” speeds. 10Mhz or better should not be a problem.

I've been playing with software and hardware for 30+ years,
but I'm new to Linux and embedded Linux systems. The code
snippets I've been able to find for GPIO access all seem use
file I/O functions. I've never seen this approach before --
I'm accustomed to reading and writing processor registers.
The file I/O approach seems strange to me, but I'm new here,