Xcode IDE for C/C++ development and cross compiling

Hey guys !

I’m new to the forum so hi to everyone.
Unfortunately i’m a newbie too thus sorry in advance for stupid questions.

I want to use my Mac to cross-compile some applications to be used on beaglebones, including the black version, preferably with Ubuntu installed on them.
I also want to use Xcode as my IDE.
As long as one uses the nice and tidy templates Apple provides for applications for OS X and iOS everything works as easy as can be … so I never gave it much thought to be honest … but now i want to develop for some embedded systems and i’m stuck.
I spent hours googling and compiling and installing toolchains and installing and looking up and what not but it seems there is some kind of gordic knot in my head :frowning:
Thus basically my question(s) is:
Can someone please give me a hint and/or push into the right direction on how to build an Xcode template to develop and compile for BeagleBone ?
One toolchain i found and installed can be found here: http://www.benmont.com/tech/crosscompiler.html
How do i put that all together to a Template ? … grrr … stupid, isn’t it :slight_smile:

Any help is highly appreciated !!
Cheers, Oliver

My two cents... you are probably better off installing a minimal development
environment inside a VM on the Mac. Just last week i was trying to do the same
thing but there's no decent compiler that i could locate. For starters you could
use prebuilt one that's available on the link above but at some point
you'll need
a newer one and then you might get stuck in the same state. I gave crosstool-ng
a shot but it didn't work for some reason. In the end i decided the
time debugging
crosstool-ng errors was not really how i wanted to spend my time on the project
that i am supposed to be doing. So right now what i have a VM with Xubuntu which
has the Linaro toolchain and openssh installed and i just ssh to it.

If Xcode lets you ssh then you could explore that but i am prefer a