Absolute newbie: confused with the getting started procedure and DSP

Hello everyone,

I have purchased a new BBB, as a hobby as well as educating myself about linux and embedded programming.
I’m a electrical engineer with a power concentration, but I have done some HDL programming and worked with MSP430’s.

I was looking at many of the getting started tutorials online, and it all got me confused, as all of them were written at different points of time, with most of them not aware of the new linux versions as well as the TI SDK.

I wanted to know whats my best option at getting started with this board, without completely messing up the on-board image and being stranded.

There seems to be newer versions of Ubuntu and the TI SDK, but I couldnt find much on if they are working properly and how I can install them on the BBB.

My purpose for this board for starters is, that I want to SSH through my windows 7 machine to the BBB and run the on board G++ compiler to do some basic C++ programming and getting the GPIOs to work according to my needs.

Please guide me to a tutorial that has the guidance for installation of the latest and most stable OS for the BBB.

My second query was that, is it possible to do Audio processing on the BBB, if so, how? Are there addons to the default Angstrom OS or any other OS that can help me process Audio. I was planning on using the Tiva C launchpad’s ADC, but I dunno how feasible this all is.

I suggest that you start at http://circuitco.com/support/BeagleBoneBlack which is the support Wiki. There is a lot of good information, links, tutorial, how to flash the eMMC,and FAQs located there.

Make sure you look under the section 7 at “Extremely Useful Links”

Gerald

If you use any web browser to go to the IP address of your BBB, there should be a “Getting Started” page with links to the IDE etc.

Thank you for the reply guys.