Actually up-to-date tutorial/primer on Beaglebone Black?

Hi, folks,

Is there any actually up-to-date tutorial/primer on the Beaglebone Black using a recent Debian (within the last year)?

I’ve got a newbie here who keeps getting turned around because everything is out of date and starts talking about things like Angstrom Linux or device tree overlays.

Any help would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks.

everything is out of date

I think the wiki is pretty recent, but without knowledge of what you’ve looked at and referencing directly I can be too certain nor am I in a position to look myself right now. Perhaps you could elaborate some.

P.

*can’t be too certain…

Apologies for the autocorrect and proof read fail

Basically there was a huge burst of activity and books in the 2015 timeframe. Sadly, those are basically all useless since everything is now Debian and Linux had some major upheavals since then. Unfortunately, I don’t seem to see anything since.

Even worse, I can’t exclude those results so something up-to-date may be hiding in the morass, but I can’t seem to find it.

What I’m looking for is:

1. A newbie-level tutorial on the level of the stuff like Derek Molloy does

2. That has been updated to deal with Debian in something like the last year

3. That explicitly DOESN’T mention any of Yocto, Angstrom or Device Tree Overlays as they don’t have any application to the Beaglebone Black anymore and only serve to confuse people who aren’t extremely familiar with the Beaglebone ecosystem already.

Thanks.

(Sorry about the fumbling messages. I think I got it right this time.)

On Thu, 21 Jun 2018 19:39:38 -0700 (PDT), "Andrew P. Lentvorski"
<bsdder@gmail.com> declaimed the following:

3) That explicitly *DOESN'T* mention any of Yocto, Angstrom or Device Tree
Overlays as they don't have any application to the Beaglebone Black anymore
and only serve to confuse people who aren't extremely familiar with the
Beaglebone ecosystem already.