AI-64 usb interface not found

Hello everyone,

I just started on BBAI 64 and I’m only plugging in USB-C and the board’s USB interface cannot be found.
To start I wanted to enable SPI 1 on the board, so I followed this:

When trying to restart my card, the card stopped responding. So I thought it was an image problem. So I bought an SD card and followed the procedure on the site. However, despite having tested with all the possible images (eMMC flash or not), it is impossible to see the USB interface appear again (thanks to an ipconfig).
It is therefore impossible to access the card in SSH. I also tried to connect via ethernet but without success.

Do you have an idea ?

Thanks in advance,

PS: I’m starting so don’t be too complex in your explanations please

Hi Louis,

Working with device tree overlays is tricky. My machine didn’t boot for several iterations while i was working on this. As soon as I updated to a new kernel via apt update, it broke SPI1 again. As a beginner, I would recommend sticking with SPI0 until the new SPI1 overlay gets merged into the official release.

To get your AI-64 bootable again, I would take the sdcard to another machine and mount the boot partition (i think it is /dev/mmcblk1p2) and get rid of the SPI1 overlay callout in the extlinux.conf.

Also, I would not use the USB-C interface. I use ethernet with an external 4AMP power supply.

Hope this helps.
Fred

1 Like

Just read that again. It seems like you may have been working on the internal emmc and not on a sdcard when this problem occurred. If you don’t have anything you need on the emmc, I would probably just reflash it with the latest flasher image.

I don’t do anything on the emmc. Maybe later once I have something stable, I will put it on the emmc.

Maybe some of the other more experienced users can assist with recovery if you need the data on the emmc.

Fred

Hello and thank you for your reply,

I don’t have anything to keep on the flash so no problem with that.