anyone tried the Discovery Kit from Microchip?

Hi all,

I have decided liike to buy one of these PolarFiire based boards. An alternative to the BeagleV Fire is the PolarFire discovery kit:
https://www.microchip.com/en-us/development-tool/mpfs-disco-kit

Has anyone tried it? Should I be able to easily use Libero designs for the BeagleV Fire in that board?

I’m not an FPGA expert and I’ve never used Microsemi/Microchip FPGAs.
It seems to have similar SoC with ‘bigger’ FPGA but less RAM and no eMMC. The idea is to learn about the SoC and RISC-V with Linux and co-design with its FPGA (hopefully with Mi-V soft cores)

Thanks!

Juan

It looks like an interesting board - especially as it includes onboard JTAG - but I don’t think it’s available just yet.

It is nominally available from Microchip who claims to have 909 units available, but for some reason they are not actually shipping. I ordered one a week ago and as yet there is no estimated shipping date (they indicated it would ship immediately when I placed the order). If you are interested in learning about bare-metal or RTOS development, this could be a better choice than the Fire since it is slightly cheaper and includes the JTAG interface particularly given the cost of purchasing a JTAG interface for the Fire. For Linux, the Fire is probably the better choice given the larger memory.

[edit April 13] I have received a communication from Microchip that they expect to actually start shipping this coming week.

BeagleV Fire + FlashPro 5 = US$250.

PolarFire Discovery Kit (on board programmer) = US$150.

I choose the later.

In a way the programmer is also built into the BeagleV Fire. It is the application processor. You only need a FlashPro5 if you are an avid SmartDebug or Identify user or for bare metal software debug. And if you are into bare metal debug an FTDI based JTAG debug probe is the best option.

1 Like

How to take advantage of Microchip FPGA Suite with an on-board MCU?