Bad to the Bone (review)

I just received my copy of “Bad to the Bone” by Steven Barret and Jason Kridner. http://www.amazon.com/Bad-Bone-Electronics-Beaglebone-BeagleBone/dp/1627051376?tag=gamlink-20

Interestingly, there are some reviews on Amazon there which were not up when I ordered it - also Amazon may be having problems with the book? Not sure why as I got my copy in only a few days.

I haven’t delved fully into it yet, but so far I am quite happy with it. My background is LAMP[Linux, Apache, MySQL, and PHP] server setup/configuration and Web Engineering/Design. IE I can install many different flavors of Linux[my preferred currently being Ubuntu but ArchLinux is looking promising]. I am extremely well versed in PHP programming and moderately versed in JavaScript from a web design standpoint. I can hack/modify code in just about any language and have done a lot of that in C, C++, Python, Ruby - it is somewhat mandatory to learn those as a lot of Linux tools are written in them and many times there will be slight tweaks needed, or changes that need to be made to make programs compile[or even small hacks to Linux kernel code to compile the latest/greatest kernel].