BBB Hardware Modifications

I have a potential application for a device like the BBB but it needs a few changes. I’m a software guy so I don’t know if they are minor design changes or major. I work as an OEM in the manufacturing world. Most devices I deal with are 24v. So how difficult would it be do redesign the BBB to have the following:

1. 24v power source
  2. 24v I/O
  3. 1 to 2gb RAM

I assume a nice cape could also be designed to bring the I/O into nice screw terminals too.

I understand the BBB was not intended for this but it seems a pretty good starting point and I just wanted to know the feasability and potential cost of doing something like this.

Mark

The BBB is not going to be redesigned.

But, you may find someone to do a custom board or you.

1. 24V power source, just convert it to 5V.
  2. That can be done, but it will be very expensive.
  3. It is already 512MB, not sure why you want to do down 2gb, If I assume that you mean 2GB, it can’t be done. Max memory on the processor is 1GB.

Oh, and the board will not cost $45. It will be a lot more.

Gerald

Deriving the regulated 5 VDC supply from 24 VDC can be a simple as a single pass-regulator with a couple of capacitors. Or you can make it more efficient by using a little switching-regulator chip. 0-24 volt DC inputs just take a resistor divider (two resistors) to scale the input range down to 0-1.8 VDC. That would work for both GPIOs and ADCs. For 24 volt high-side output I would use an opto-isolator (AKA solid state relay) for each output. You drive a transistor (like a 2N2222) with a couple of milliamps from a GPIO pin, and that drives the opto-isolator’s LED with the required 10-20 ma (too much for a BBB GPIO).

All of those could go on a cape, but if you need more than a few of those 24 volt outputs then you might run out of room. Adding more RAM is going to take a custom main board redesign because the processor’s DRAM interface signals are not present on the P8 and P9 connectors.