Beagle bone ssh

Hello,
I am able to connect to the built in web server with my BeagleBone Revision A4 through USB, but when I connect the bone to my router and plug it in through ethernet, I try to ssh into it using “ssh root@beaglebone.local” and it returns something like “ssh: Could not resolve hostname beaglebone.local: nodename nor servname provided, or not known” I have researched this thoroughly and could not find anything. Please keep in mind that I am a 6th grader, however I have a lot of experience in Unix terminals and C based programming languages.
Thanks,
-thesciencekid8

PS: Do I have to choose between Newbie or Expert for the skill level category? :smiley:

Which BeagleBone board do you have? There are two different boards. One white and one black.

Gerald

i have a the white one.

Just wanted to make sure. There were a few Rev A4 BBB that went out.

Gerald

The name 'beaglebone.local' has to be resolved by the DNS system used
by the computer you're connecting from.
Whether this works depends on the details of your internal network
setup and the settings of the software on your BB.
Try ssh root@192.168.7.2 as this seems to be the default IP address
used by Angstrom on BB. If that doesn't work,
I would dump the network traffic using something like wireshark to see
what your BB is doing when it boots.

Hi, I already tried the IP address a long time ago. As for the wireshark thing, I will look into it, also one more thing you might wanna know... I am able to ssh into the beaglebone with a USB cable and an Ethernet cable both connected to the computer (Mid 2011 iMac dual booted to run Ubuntu), however get a connection timeout when the bone is connected to the router. And yes, I used the ip instead of "beaglebone.local".
Thanks!

So here's the plan:
- make sure your BBB booted successfully: are the four blue LEDs
blinking as expected?
- find what IP is the BBB on
- find if SSH service is ready to use, e.g. by doing nmap
<IP-Address-of-your-BBB>