BeagleBoard Diagnostic Kernel will not boot

Hi,

I am somewhat new to the Beagle Board we are using Beagle Board xM Rev B and C. Up until now we were using some pre-built beagle board kernels but we are coming to a point where we need access to SPI, I2C buses and its looking like pre-built stuff requires patches to provide access.

In my hopeless attempts I have downloaded the repository from https://gitorious.org/beagleboard-diagnostic-kernel, x-loader boots up, u-boot works so I have done pin appropriate pin-muxing using the software available on TI’s website.

I can even compile a kernel Image but it goes as far as … Booting Kernel Image and freezes.

I am using the following commands

$make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=arm-linux-gnueabi- mrproper
$make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=arm-linux-gnueabi- omap3_beagle_defconfig
$make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=arm-linux-gnueabi- uImage

arm-linux-gnueabi-gcc --version
arm-linux-gnueabi-gcc (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.6.2-14ubuntu2~ppa1) 4.6.2
Copyright © 2011 Free Software Foundation, Inc.

When I searched the issue people are saying that the environment variable for the console should be changed from ttyS2 to ttyO2, when I look at the Image that was sent with the BeagleBoard it puts the getty on ttyS2, Regardless I have chanced the environment variables to ttyO2 with no avail.

I am more then sure that it is some thing very very simple.

Host OS is Ubuntu 10

Thanks in advance

Husain

Hello All,

So I deleted the whole thing and got some other kernel, u-boot and x-loader, repeated the same steps and its now working.

So I guess this issue is resolved, I think

Thanks all

Husain