BeagleBone AI-64 - lost in information

Hello! I’ve been using and developing on Raspberry Pi since the beginning in 2012. I use the original Debian based OS, I also build Yocto images for it, and there was a time when I built an OS with Buildroot. Although I am not a professional I have some experience with Embedded Linux.
I bought a BeagleBone AI-64 and although I am impressed with the hardware, I am completely lost in the software field.
I have read through the Getting Started Manual and have successfully installed it. However, I refuse to believe that I have to program on the SBC itself.
Is there an official Yocto build, cross toolchain? How can I develop software for it on PC?
Unfortunately for me, BeagleBoard is completely unknown and I approach the question in the classic embedded linux way: develop on PC with cross toolchain and sysroot, then deploy to target system.

My other big problem is that beaglebone.org sometimes appears in an “interesting” way. It’s like it randomly switches between two different sites. I attached the screenshots…

Sorry for the long post, I really need some guidance! Thanks in advance!

1 Like

If all you are wanting to do is write and deploy scripts or programs (Java/C/C++/Python) to the board, then this shouldn’t be too much different than any other Linux platform you might’ve worked with. You may need to install some additional assistance tools to make quality-of-life aids like WinSCP work to make the transfer easier, but no, you do not need to program ON the target. There are most definitely cross-compilers for Windows and Linux to program for ARM.