BeagleBone Black and an abrupt loss of power

Hi All,

I’m considering using a Beagle Bone Black for a project that I am working on. I have some basic experience working with a couple of different microcontrollers/computers but I really like the specs of the Beagle Bone Black. I love that it can run various Linux distributions and the hardware profile matches my project requirements pretty closely.

One concern that I have is regarding the Beagle Bone Black’s ability to tolerate a sudden loss of power. On many embedded Linux systems, if power is lost abruptly, the file system can become corrupt, and the device will not be able to boot, unless the file system is completely rebuilt.

Can the Beagle Bone Black tolerate an abrupt loss of power and not be bricked? Ideally, for my project, the device would be powered down properly, but I can think of instances where the board might lose power suddenly. I was wondering if I would have to worry about having the device get bricked if this happened.

Thanks in advance!
Tomaso

Hi All,

I'm considering using a Beagle Bone Black for a project that I am working on. I have some basic experience working with a couple of different microcontrollers/computers but I really like the specs of the Beagle Bone Black. I love that it can run various Linux distributions and the hardware profile matches my project requirements pretty closely.

One concern that I have is regarding the Beagle Bone Black's ability to tolerate a sudden loss of power. On many embedded Linux systems, if power is lost abruptly, the file system can become corrupt, and the device will not be able to boot, unless the file system is completely rebuilt.