Beaglebone Black Clone Device Tree Problems

Hey guys,

I’m working on a project which is using a clone of the BBB hardware and I’m running into some issues with Device Trees. I wasn’t involved with the hardware design, but as far as I know, the BBB hardware has been duplicated exactly. Specifically, the clone board will be directly connected to an LCD using the LCD data pins on the AM335x. I’ve never worked with Device Trees before, but after some initial research (mostly based on this summary) I’m thinking that they are the best way to accomplish what I’m looking for (enabling the LCD pins and configuring the driver to use them). I’m not concerned about the details of implementing this right now, since I’m having issues with Device Trees in general that I need to address first.

The board is booting from an SD card with two partitions: one for U-boot and one for the Angstrom (v2012.12 with 3.8.13 kernel) image, both of which are the standard images which ship with the Beaglebone. I’m not having problems getting the board to boot. It has no problem running U-boot and it can start Linux without any catastrophic failures using the default images. Once Linux boots, if I go to /sys/devices/bone_capemgr.8, there are all the files you’d find on a regular BBB except slots and the slots-* files. As far as I know, without these files I can’t add or modify device trees for the board. I still could by rebuilding the kernel I suppose, but as far as I know this is a deprecated approach.

Here’s a pastebin showing the serial output of the clone while it boots

I only have a basic understanding of U-Boot, so the output during the boot sequence doesn’t help me to much, but here are the main things I’ve noticed while skimming through it: