BeagleBone Black programming IDE C/C++

Hello,

I have since shortly the BBB and it works very nice, I have used the Cloud9 interface and installed the AdaFruit WebIDE. Both works nice, but i like to programming offline in an IDE, then compile it and send it to the BBB.

Since i’m very new in the Linux world I have searched the internet for this solution, I found several solutions using Eclipse and als Netbeans with the possibility to compile on the BBB itself. Several people gives the advise not to do that, because the app would be slower.

I use windows 7 32-bit as computer, but it is no problem to install Ubunutu on the computer, the BBB has the Angstrom distrubution on it.

Tips are welcome and when it work I will make an tutorial so anybody can use it.

Well,

There is already plenty of tutorial for that :stuck_out_tongue: =>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFv_-ykLppo
http://www.lvr.com/eclipse1.htm

enjoy,

Micka.

Thank you Micka, I will give it an try if this work with the BBB.

Is an Windows version also possible?

Well, if you find out how to cross Compile on a windows Machine, I’m open to any suggestion, but to my knowledge, I don’t know . ( And I would like ).

Micka,

In theory, you could do it with Cygwin. I have not even investigated this, so I don’t know if it’s actually possible. I know that years ago some people were cross-compiling some binaries on Cygwin but I have no idea what level of support exists.

It’s probably easier to create a live linux usb stick and just reboot into that to do your cross-compiling, if I were to hazard a guess.

If you have a “decent” multi-core x86 box/laptop, you may even be able to get virtual-box/ubuntu/other-linux going…

/venkat

Linaro has win32 binaries . . . and yes they do work. It also works well with code::blocks on Windows 7 x64. I have been compiling all my userland stuff thus far from Windows. Which is to say, not a whole lot.