BeagleBone Black with thunderbolt

I am very new to the SBC world. I have an RP but would like to use a Beaglebone Black for an application on my network. The difficulty is that the data involved is on a Thunderbolt RAID array. I can re-export access to that file system on a protocol that these small computers could access, but I had hoped to be able to directly connect and avoid having a proxy computer to maintain. Is there any possibility that someone is working on a cape that could access thunderbolt for disk array connections? Is thunderbolt too proprietary and guarded to work up one’s own solution?

I’m not a Thunderbolt expert, but I think the bottleneck here ( assuming the BBB had access to PCI-E ) would be the CPU. I have been following the concept several years before implemented in consumer product, I still do not know the actual specification, but I am fairly certain the BBB does not have fast enough, or even enough I/O to do Thunderbolt.

However, the BBB can load the kernel and root file system via USB, NFS, and MMC media at minimum. I’ve done all 3 of the above, and they a work very well. The on board Ethernet is exceptionally fast when compared to some PC implementations. The USB hardware I tested was nearly twice as fast at writes, but slightly slower at reads( comparedto NFS ). This may / may not have had to do with my external USB media though.

iSCSI also worked, but was not faster than NFS. Since NFS is considerably easier to setup, I pretty much “gave up” on iSCSI.