Beaglebone blue, buildroot and wifi

Hi,

I recently purchased a beaglebone blue and tried it with pre-installed image and the latest debian image from beagleboard.org. Everything is ok and the wifi works perfectly.

Now, I want to build my own custom image with buildroot. I have some experience with buildroot and raspberry pi. I managed to have a bootable image with linux console on uart. The problem is that when I try to activate wlan0 (ip link set wlan0 up), the board hangs. I cannot connect to ssh anymore (USB connection), I cannot access it via the uart linux console (no more log from kernel), the heartbeat LED stops blinking, the only thing i can do is ping the board (through USB).

What I have tried so far,

Use different firmware (/lib/firmware/ti-connectivity) from:

• Buildroot linux-firmware package
  • Beaglebone Black wireless firmware (on github)
  • Pre installed firmware from the official Debian image

Use different device-tree

• am35x-boneblue.dts built with the linux kernel by buildroot
  • the devicetree provided in the official Debian image

Use different libc

• µclibc
  • glibc

At this point I end up every time with the symptoms described before. Could anyone help to investigate further?

Thank you,

Thomas

Hi,

I recently purchased a beaglebone blue and tried it with pre-installed image and the latest debian image from beagleboard.org. Everything is ok and the wifi works perfectly.

Now, I want to build my own custom image with buildroot. I have some experience with buildroot and raspberry pi. I managed to have a bootable image with linux console on uart. The problem is that when I try to activate wlan0 (ip link set wlan0 up), the board hangs. I cannot connect to ssh anymore (USB connection), I cannot access it via the uart linux console (no more log from kernel), the heartbeat LED stops blinking, the only thing i can do is ping the board (through USB).

That sounds like a kernel panic.