Beaglebone Cloud9 Default User

I’ve been using my BBB for some time with Ubuntu 3.8.13-bone30 but upgraded to Debian 4.1.12-ti-r29 because of OS stability problems. The Cloud9 IDE is back. I opened it and saw a command shell prompt running as root@beaglebone.

Does anyone know off the top of their head where the default user is set?

I saw this, http://stackoverflow.com/questions/28822695/change-the-username-and-add-a-password-for-cloud9-in-the-beaglebone-black but after changing
.describe(“auth”, “Basic Auth username:password”)
to
.describe(“auth”, “debian:temppwd”)

and rebooting, the Cloud9 bash prompt is still “root@beaglebone:~# .”

[if this is a double post, I apologize]

I’m not very experienced with Cloud9 or BoneScript, but as I understand it, at present BoneScript is only usable for code running as root because of device driver permissions. Also BoneScript PWM is not working in the “latest” versions.

While this is not optimal, adding user permissions into the mix would likely overwhelm people coming from Arduino. Raspberry Pi currently has basically the same setup where only root users can use on board hardware, unless its changed with a new Raspbian release recently.

Are you accessing Cloud9 via the USB “gadget” or Ethernet (Wired or WiFi)? I might make a difference.

I very much appreciate the reply. I was accessing Cloud9 through eth0 not usb0 so root access from the network was possible. Were I only accessing the BeagleBone over the usb network I wouldn’t have been concerned. However I remotely connected over port 3000 and saw a command line running with root.

I tried chasing down the problem but found the Cloud9 IDE just too convoluted to figure out. I tried but failed to change the default user and password in the configuration file referred to in my earlier post. At that point I simply killed Cloud9, and just used Byobu (tmux) terminals to work with node.js.