beaglebone, PREEMPT-RT and low latency ADC/DAC

Well, for completely software-controlled timing, I don’t think it will meet your requirements of the
10 us jitter. If you put a buffer on it, and have the ADC sample and trigger an interrupt, then it might
work. Possibly a counter/timer could be used for the ADC trigger and interrupt. Part of the problem is slow context switches and the requirement for cache purging on the ARM CPUs. This is all from anecdotal reports and not measurements I have made personally, but I have been investigating RT performance on several ARM platforms for a motion control project. What little data I have scraped together doesn’t look very good.

Jon

Hello,

embedded/real time/hardware newbie here. I have an requirement to read an ADC, perform some simple FP calculations and write to DAC. It needs to be at least 20KHz but importantly the latency on the DAC/ADC needs to less than 10us. Low jitter is also important. Is the beaglebone up to it? I see this asked many times but not answered so I am not really expecting an answer now :slight_smile:

Hi Evan,

This won’t be possible with Linux. Reading in ADC samples at 20KHz is no problem and you can use DMA to store samples into a buffer. The same is true for sending samples to a DAC if you are using DMA with a buffer. If you could batch process the samples in the input buffer and write the results to an output buffer, the Beaglebone would perform fine. However, if you want to send DAC sample 10uS after receiving a corresponding ADC sample, this would not be possible. If you want to do that, then I suggest using StarterWare which you can download from here http://www.ti.com/tool/starterware-sitara

Regards,

John

I have two specific questions