BeagleBone Tethering (via ConnMan)

Has anyone gotten this working? I’m just getting started with ConnMan and don’t know much yet.

root@beaglebone:/usr/lib/connman/test# ./enable-tethering wifi beaglebone password
Enabling wifi tethering
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “./enable-tethering”, line 46, in
sys.argv[1], sys.argv[2], sys.argv[3])
File “./enable-tethering”, line 34, in technology_enable_tethering
tech.SetProperty(“Tethering”, dbus.Boolean(1))
File “/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/dbus/proxies.py”, line 145, in call
**keywords)
File “/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/dbus/connection.py”, line 651, in call_blocking
message, timeout)
dbus.exceptions.DBusException: net.connman.Error.NotSupported: Not supported

I’m wanting for the BeagleBone to serve as an access point that I can connect to from a smartphone. From what I read adhoc isn’t supported, and using tethering seems like one of the few options.

Thanks in advance for any input or direction you can provide!
Jerrill

This thread has converged with another topic I started here:

https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups#!topic/beagleboard/gl4kya5zKeU

It turns out the “master mode” rather than “ad hoc” mode is required for tethering on a given wireless USB device and mine doesn’t support master mode. I’ll continue this discussion in the other thread.

Thanks,
Jerrill

I have since acquired a wireless USB dongle that supports master (AP) mode and can be used for ConnMan tethering. Now I’m in the process of getting the software working.

The folks on the ConnMan mailing list suggested that the CONFIG_AP needs to be set in the config file when the wpa_supplicant is compiled. I was hoping if anyone knew off the top of their head if this was already the case or whether I needed to download and re-compile the wpa_supplicant source code?

If it’s not, can this be included in the next release of the BeagleBone image?

Thanks,
Jerrill

Everyone,