Chipsee 7" cap touchscreen v1 Expansion for BBB dtbo

Hi Guys,

I’ve searched the net to try and find a device tree overlay for the Chipsee 7" capacitive touch screen expansion. It seems one does not exist yet. How would I go about finding out if my Linux distro and kernel (Angstrom 31-07-2013, 3.8.13) has the driver for the touch controller and LCD built in? The touch controller is the FocalTech FT5X06 and the LCD panel is the Innolux AT070TN83 or the EJ070NA-01J, the LCD is interfaced to the DS90C385 chip with 24bits/lines between it and the BBB. I have all the datasheets and schematics and even found a linux driver for the FT5X06 but it sounds like it should already be in the kernel.

I’m planning on using an existing 7" LCD DT as a template and modifying it with my settings and pinouts but not sure what to use in the “compatible” field in the DT for the various components as I don’t know what the internal linux reference is for the touch controller and the LCD

I am no expert when it comes to linux so correct me if I’m wrong in my approach, and please help me if I’m correct!

Thanks

Hi Guys,

I've searched the net to try and find a device tree overlay for the Chipsee
7" capacitive touch screen expansion. It seems one does not exist yet. How
would I go about finding out if my Linux distro and kernel (Angstrom
31-07-2013, 3.8.13) has the driver for the touch controller and LCD built
in? The touch controller is the FocalTech FT5X06 and the LCD panel is the
Innolux AT070TN83 or the EJ070NA-01J, the LCD is interfaced to the DS90C385
chip with 24bits/lines between it and the BBB. I have all the datasheets
and schematics and even found a linux driver for the FT5X06 but it sounds
like it should already be in the kernel.

Your biggest problem is going to be wether the driver has device tree support
in it. No support, and you would have to add the support in order to use DT.

I'm planning on using an existing 7" LCD DT as a template and modifying it