Connecting a USB printer to BBB

Hello again,

I managed to get my BBB to work as a standalone system with a monitor, keyboard and a mouse (the default Angstrom). But when I connect a USB cable from a printer (an HP deskjet) it doesn’t appear in any “Print” dialog.

I know nothing of Linux, but I managed to see that when I connect the cable, there’s an “lp0” added to /dev/usb, so the system does recognize something. How can I make the printer work?

Thanks in advance,
Ido

Usually every printer comes with drivers. Did you install the drivers on the BBB so you can print?

Hi Juan,

Like I said, I have no experience with Linux, so… no :slight_smile:

I see there are Linux drivers for HP printers called HPLIP, but the download page (http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/install_wizard/index.html) doesn’t have Angstrom in the Select Distribution list… does it mean I won’t be able to print?

Thanks again

You may be able to get away with the drivers for a different distribution on Angstrom. You also have the option of loading a different Linux OS on your BBB if you really need the printing.

The instructions on how to load a different OS can be found at this link.

On that HP downloads page you would select Ubuntu as your distribution and 12.04 as the version if you decide to use that one.

Hi Tommy, thanks for the advice!

I was worried about installing a different distribution, having enough troubles with the first… but eventually it went pretty smoothly. I even heard a rumor that this Ubuntu already supports HP printers - I’m going to test it tomorrow.

Cheers,

Ido

The saga continues… I downloaded the HPLIP installer for HP printers and ran it per the instructions. It started downloading and installing all sorts of dependencies, worked for over an hour, then declared I don’t have enough room on the device.

Oh, one more thing - the SD shows 0.5MB full out of 0.98MB… so I guess there are hidden linux partitions in there or something.