Cross Compilation with Eclipse Issue

Hello all :blush: I am new to Beaglebone. I got an issue when I setup the Eclipse for cross compilation of my code on my Windows 10 platform.

I follow the instruction in “HelloBone - HelloBone” and everything works fine. My code can be compiled successfully.

Eclipse1

But when I tried to run the code on my BBB, “Launching hellobone Default” has encounter problem" occurs.

Eclipse2

When I checked my BBB with SSH, I found that the object file can be loaded to my target folder but it is not an executable one.

Eclipse3

I checked my Run Configuration , I had added a commands to execute before application “chmod +x /home/debian/hellobone/hellobone”. This is an absolute path but this didn’t work. I have searched for a solution for it but may be I am stupid and still can’t solve it. May I ask if anyone can help me to get some hints to solve it? Thank you very much guys.

Eclipse4

I’m not fully there yet as well and doing this in the background and when my attention comes back around, will fix my mis-configured cross-platform debug. But that’s for another day.

To throw my “clue” into this thread…

Watch the toolchain and output format.

I did get a binary that ran, but not at first. I’d installed an ARM toolchain for the AM3358 (either off the ARM or TI websites) and attempt(s) to execute got a “Segmentation Fault” error. They didn’t build a binary image that the linux environment understood.

Setting the toolchain to “gcc-arm-10.3-2021.07-mingw-w64-i686-arm-none-linux-gnueabihf”, and making sure it produced “elf” binaries got me the executable.

There are many solutions to this, but I did post some suggestions on a thread in the old forum some time back.
https://forum.beagleboard.org/t/re-beagleboard-ide-eclipse-for-beaglebone-on-windows/2433/6

Ex:
Try downloading the gcc-linaro-7.5.0-2019.12-i686-mingw32_arm-linux-gnueabihf toolchain and set the Cross Settings to reference this: