[DevKit8000]- 7" LCD display

Hello everyone,

I am trying to get my 7" LCD display to work but am failing at it.
I need some help.

I am new to Linux kernel for the last few months and have been reading as much as I can to try and make this work.
I’m determined to do this but I think I need a little nudge from someone in the right direction.

The dev kit 8000 comes with kernel 2.6.x and I am trying to port it to kernel 3.2.x obtained from R.Nelson.
I created a board file under kernel/arch/arm/mach-omap2/board-rpc.c and a panel-rpc.c under kernel/drivers/video/omap2/displays/…
I created these files with a mix of some DevKit8000 and BeagleBoard files that were in kernel 2.6 and kernel 3.2
I did notice that the code has changed a lot between the two versions.
I am a struggling in learning about omapdss and omapfb but in time I hope to be smarter about it by reading more.

I can confirm that the LCD does work (hardware wise…) from trials and testing using other distro images such as angstrom etc…
I was able to port the old u-boot 1.3.3 to the latest u-boot from DENX.
I built some code pages there under include-config and u-boot/board…
I was able to turn on the DVI and change the screen to Orange while booting the board to u-boot.
I have yet to do this with kernel 3.2

So far, I can boot to u-boot, modify the setenv to match the kernel 3.2, boot the kernel from the SDcard and bring up a file system with busy box.
I have a prompt and the network works.
I was able to get the ads7846 to work because I can get screen garbage when I pinch the LCD screen.
But I can’t seem to get the display and DVI screen to work. :frowning:

I’m sure Im close to the solution and it’s probably right in front of me.
Can someone give me suggestions so I can continue to work at this?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Robert Dugas

I should add the following info: from booting - but is not shown in dmesg.
"Error opening /dev/fb0: No such file or directory"