Direct Rendering Manager sed by 3.8 Kernel to command GPU in Beaglebone Black

I understand the DRM provides a method for the user space to control GPU in the BBB via API. Although this may not have been possible with previous versions of the kernels, GPU I guess must have been controlled somehow by other kernels.

I wish to know before the new Kernel, how was the GPU controlled by the kernel without the help of the DRM? We still had HDMI output from the beaglebone and I hope we used the GPU in it even during the previous Kernel versions.

I am a beginner to the Beaglebone and I hope detailed answer so that I could dig deep into other ends.

Thank you very much.

Technically, we still don't use the "GPU"...

Please read this first:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_Rendering_Manager

The old "fbdev" driver we used before the current 'drm' driver was:

https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/tree/drivers/video/fbdev/da8xx-fb.c

Regards,

Please do not misunderstand my intention to understand this bit of detail as an effort to put a certain part of the development down.

I suppose we have a , SGX530 3D Graphics Engine , a GPU capable of doing some GPU processing. So it is okay to assume that we are using the processor to do this processing of graphic elements that otherwise is possible to process with a GPU?

My second very important question is, Why are we not using the GPU at the moment?

Thank you very much for all your replies.

Feel free to contact TI directly on that issue.

Regards,

Dear Robert,

Thank you for your reply.

Could you please clarify if my idea about this problem is correct? Are we processing video using the typical 32 bit processor?

I understood the wiki page about DRM. The only problem I have is why are we not using it when its sounds good to use it? what is the disadvantage?

Currently, for all the beagleboard.org images we are using "drm" with
all rendering calculations done on the Cortex-A8 core. The GPU is