Flashing the Debian eMMC issues

First, I successfully flashed the Angstrom dMMC image to the BBB but then I issues trying to get the BBB to work using Ethernet. Someone from support suggested I use Debian instead because Angstrom is not being supported any longer. I’ve been trying to flash the Debian eMMC image to the BBB with no success. The Debian image I downloaded from the BB site does not have the “flasher” embedded in the name and I cannot find it anywhere. It seems it should be readily available. I found the following instructions but I am really new to the BBB and to programing so I am getting lost in the how to . . .

How do I do the following? Where do I find the /boot/uEnv.txt? What do I use to edit it?

Flashing eMMC

To setup the standalone microSD image to automatically flash the eMMC on powerup. Note, img files with the words “eMMC-flasher” already had this enabled…

In /boot/uEnv.txt:

##enable BBB: eMMC Flasher:
#cmdline=init=/opt/scripts/tools/eMMC/init-eMMC-flasher-v3.sh

Change to:

##enable BBB: eMMC Flasher:
cmdline=init=/opt/scripts/tools/eMMC/init-eMMC-flasher-v3.sh

and reboot the system, it’ll flash the eMMC on the next bootup. (make sure to remove the microSD after flashing is complete)

I am assuming this procedure will boot using the image I already have on the microSD which does not have the “flasher” embedded in.

Your assistance greatly appreciated.

sudo nano /boot/uEnv.txt

scroll to bottom, make change, "ctl-x" to save and exit...

Regards,

For future reference: http://elinux.org/Beagleboard:BeagleBoneBlack_Debian#Jessie_Snapshot_lxqt

If you look off to the left, there will usually be “flasher” somewhere in the description. Or . . .
william@eee-pc:~$ ls backup/ |grep blank
BBB-blank-debian-8.5-console-armhf-2016-06-19-2gb.img.xz