GSoC 2013 Proposal and questions

Hi everyone,

My name is Matei Florin and Im a 1st year MSc student at the Faculty of Electronics Telecommunications and Information Technology of the Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania. I majored last year in Applied Electronics and currently Im undergoing a master`s program called “Multimedia technologies used in biomerical and information security applications”.

Ive been following the BB project for about 3 or 4 years now but Ive never had the opportunity to work with a BB of any kind because I could not afford it and so it was difficult to contribute to the community. Luckily for me my university did purchase an OMAP3 EVM with which I fell in love and which I hijacked as soon as I laid eyes on it. Using the EVM I created my graduation project called “Home Automation system using speech recognition on an embedded platform”. The project consisted of the OMAP as the brain of the system and 2 other boards which where used as sensors and actuators. The OMAP had a speech recognition toolkit which had the task of performing voice activity detection and continuous speech recognition and the result of this was fed into a command detection block which decided if the recognized utterance is a predefined command or not and if it was it would send it out to the actuators.

Are you talking about TIesr? https://gforge.ti.com/gf/project/tiesr/

The actuators where 2 PIC microcontroller boards which I also programmed. They had a wireless network between themselves and on of them had an USB connection with the OMAP. On the 2 boards different technologies were used like RGB LED control and Capacitive sensing. Using voice commands you could turn on/off the lights/tv or control something else and it also had distress calls. The speech recognition toolkit I used is CMU`s pocketsphinx. Atop of the pocketsphinx library I created some wrapper C++ classes in order to be able to use Qt to create a GUI for the on-board screen.