HDMI Port is dead

Hey Guys

Multiple issues with beaglebone right now.

There is some odd problem with HDMI on my beaglebone.

It is odd because

1. It did not work out of the box
  2. It worked when I flashed an Image from the 5th of Sep, 2013
  3. Couple of days later, the same image did not work.
  4. I do not get any EDID information from terminal through ssh into the device
  5. xrandr --verbose returns “Can’t open display”
  6. Boot flags also do not function
  7. The display does not even detect that I have a HDMI device connected.
  8. I tried echo 0 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/blank, but still does not fix the issue.

Now what’s the problem. Can it be a porblem with the port?
I mean, why would the same image work and then not work.

Also, the display I am using is from AOC.

I am new to embedded, but is this normal? Everything seems to be broken out of the box with the BBB

Not trying to be a pessimist, but should I just return the board?

Thanks
Sushant Khanna

Did you go to the support Wiki and look under HDMI issues? If not, then I suggest you try that. The link is on the little white card that came in the box with the board.

You may also find other useful information on the main page, like maybe restoring the image. Sometime with Linux if you pull the power without shutting it down, the eMMC or SD can get corrupted.

Gerald

HI Gerald

I did try the support wiki for HDMI.
I understand if it is an software problem, but it seems to be more of a hardware issue.
Even after re-flashing the same image i could not get any output.
My linux machine has an issue with graphic drivers so it does not display anything on the screen either, but when I plug it in the screen wakes up beacause it detects it.
In the beaglebone’s case, nothing is detected either. Also no xrandr --verbose output. Some blogs suggested me to get some info from there.

I am trying an Android image now. Let me see if that works.

Last comment not posted yet, I will anyway continue from there.