Help designing-in fast ADC (e.g. Analog Devices AD7761) for sonar.

Hi

I’m new to BB but not new to hardware/software engineering. My reason for posting is that I am struggling to connect it to the Beaglebone in a way that permits fast data capture, and I am hoping that someone might be able to offer suggestions.

My (hobby) idea is to create a device that can read 6 to 8 channel audio and use sonar data analysis such as audio beamforming to analyse environmental sound, in the first instance to identify the direction sounds are coming from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acoustic_source_localization

I have been looking to use a high-speed ADC such as the £12 AD7761 - an 8 channel, 16-bit true simultaneous sampling converter capable of 100HKz sampling, which uses SPI for device control but a much simpler serial data channel (using 1, 2 or 8 lines) for the analog samples. The max audio data rate is thus approx 12MBits/s sustained (96KHz sample rate). However, each 16-bit sample on the 7761 is output as a 24-bit value, with the 8 additional bits including channel/sample metadata. Thus the device-level data rate is around 18.5MBits/s for all 8 channels. The recommended Data I/O clock rate for the device is, however, 32.6MHz. Although it will work slower, there are impacts elsewhere.

The device has 8 serial output data lines and a sync line indicating start of the 24-bit data frame on the data lines. The next sample (either next channel or next in time, depending on configured # channels and outputs) follows on immediately. The device can either interleave all sample data on 1 line, split it across 2 lines, or use 1 dedicated line per channel. Byte-parallel output is not possible.

Something like:

DS ____---__
Ch1 ____XyyyyyXyyyyyXyy

ChN ____XyyyyyXyyyyyXyy

X=first bit of frame, y=other bits in frame.