Help with Device Tree, Trying to expose kernel pps

Hello, I am new to the Beagle Bone platform and Linux/Unix. I am working on a project to generate a kernel 1pps from the bbb platform over the gpio/header.

I followed Derek Molloy’s video series on kernel modules before beginning ( [Writing a Linux Loadable Kernel Module (LKM) - Interfacing to GPIOs | derekmolloy.ie](Writing a Linux Loadable Kernel Module (LKM) - Interfacing to GPIOs | derekmolloy.ie)) . I was able to compile his modules.

I tried to use a github ( [jsln/pps-gen-gpio: Linux kernel PPS generator using GPIO pins (github.com)](GitHub - jsln/pps-gen-gpio: Linux kernel PPS generator using GPIO pins))

I could not get am335x to work or find it on my beagle, so i changed a gps device tree to pps out not pps in. The kernel module told me I had more than one pps generator and stopped.

When the github failed, I tried to follow the published guide ( SetupGuide.632280828.pdf (usermanual.wiki)) i found online.

I could not find (apt-get install linux-image-4.12.14.bone4) anymore and I used a 4.14 version that was slightly newer. This was on image Debian 9.3 2018-01-28 4GB SD LXQT.

When I tried the step “build_kernel.sh” it ran out of space. I tried to downside the packages, I removed about 1gb worth but it was not enough. It looked like the build_kernel was downloading more than 4gb.

I also tried to follow this guide: [PTP Time Synchronization for FlockLab 2 (ethz.ch)](https://pub.tik.ee.ethz.ch/students/2020-FS/SA-2020-01.pdf) but it did not have posted code.

Sorry for my poor english, it is my second language and I do microcontroller work as a contractor. I am learning but this project I have is tough :slight_smile:

Hi @rony_vargas you don’t need a custom or older kernel build anymore… PPS is built-in today, just use the latest image and customize your overlays.

What’s your goal for this signal?