how to (physically) connect the Arduino Pro Mini?

Hi, all -

I’m going through Molloy’s book, and am on the chapter regarding the BBB buses. I got an Arduino Pro Mini and some other devices for the exercises in the chapter. When the Mini arrived, I discovered that connecting it isn’t as straightforward as the other devices I’ve used so far.

I’m a software engineer, so please forgive my lack of knowledge in the area of physical connections, but…how am I supposed to work with this thing? The videos in Molloy’s web page don’t address the Mini, and there doesn’t seem to be a lot of information about this on SparkFun’s site either, though they do indicate that soldering and some other activities might be needed. This is a little out of my pay grade, though I suppose I can learn.

Can anyone point me to a reference (or just tell me how) on how I’m supposed to make connections like this? I guess most users of the BBB are more proficient with electronics than I am, because it’s a topic that Molloy kind of glosses over in the book.

Thank you for any help. I’m really anxious to get this working, because chapters 8 and 9 are the real reason I wanted to experiment with the BBB in the first place.

I have the book but haven’t referred to it much (I should at some point). Could you provide a bit more information:
I am on page x, and am attempting to do y. The book wants me to do a, but I can’t do so because b. Be as specific as possible and I’ll try to get you an answer. Thanks!

Andrew

Hi, Andrew -

Yeah, I suppose I should have included that information. If your book is the same edition as mine, on page 315 you’ll find figure 8-16. There, the author shows the wiring connections between the BBB and the Arduino. It’s the physical connections to the Arduino I don’t know how to do. I can’t just insert the wires I use for the BBB and the breadboard; the holes are too big, plus that would be a hokey connection anyway.