I2C problems

Hello everyone,

I’m new to this subject but I’m trying to collect temperature data from this sensor : https://www.mikroe.com/thermo-9-click by using Python and a BeagleBone Black Rev C. The BBB is new and I don’t have any SD card so I flashed nothing on it. My problem is that when I connect the sensor (where I moved the resistance to allow I2C mode) the BBB detects nothing : do you have any idea why ? Should I “enable” I2C pins ?

I’ll be grateful if someone can help me.

Best regards,

Hi

You need to load a dtb to enable the i2c
Edit uEnv.txt file and uncomment #u_boot_overlay_addr1 and add instead .dtbo add BB-I2CX-00A0.dtb where x is the i2c 1 or 2 according the port you are using.

Astrid:

I debugged an I2C bus just recently - I had 3 devices, a DS3231 real time clock, a BME680 environmental sensor and a BNO055 inertial motion unit. I had a lot of trouble with the last one.

Two suggestions:

First, use the i2cdetect and i2cdump utilities. The basic commands to check i2C bus 2 (pins P9_19 and P9_20) are:

I2cdetect -l
I2cdetect -r 2

You can google "i2cdetect BBB” to find more info. Using these rules out any problems with Python. If your device is not showing up, check your wiring. If it is showing up and i2cdump works too, then you may want to check the python libraries.

Second, if you have access to an oscilloscope, use it to check SDA and SCL. My BNO was appearing in i2cdetect and working intermittently in Python. When I looked at it with the ’scope, it was clear that low to high transitions on SDA where taking far too long. A 1KΩ pull-up resistor fixed this (add it close to the sensor between SDA and 3V3). If you don’t have a scope, try adding the pull up resistor. My devices each had a 10KΩ pull up, but this was not enough. Be careful that the combined load does not exceed the 6 mA the BBB pins can safely sink.