Improving the BeagleBone low-latency multi-channel audio system: Extend driver architecture to Beagle Board X15, add DSP library to make use of X15's DSPs

Hi,

I’m studying Information Engineering (M.Sc.) at Fachhochschule Kiel - University of Applied Sciences in Germany and I’m already familiar with ASoC (ALSA System on Chip).
I’m very interested in porting the soundcard drivers of the CTAG face2|4 Audio Card to the BB-X15 and to add a DSP library.
I’ve got still some questions about the DSP library.
What exactly should the library do?
Should it be independently of the ALSA soundcard drivers in user space to simplify the usage of the DSPs or to optimize the soundcard drivers?
In second case, one has to extend the ASoC core (which is a difficult task in this time span, I think).
My IRC name is henrix_ and I’m available in the #beagle-gsoc channel.

Thanks.

Henrik Langer

Hi,
I'm interested in developing a real-time Audio-DSP-Box. I would also like to use the CTAG face2|4 for that application. I'm not completely sure how much performance a 4 Channel In/4 Channel Out real-time DSP Box needs - but I think the DSPs of the X15 would come in handy!

I guess Henrik knows quite something about developing an ASoC Driver for the CTAG face2|4 since he wrote his bachelor thesis about that topic. I'm coming from an audio engineering background - so probably it would be a good idea if we both could work together on that topic. Is that possible during a Summer of Code?

Do you guys think that is a good idea?

Kind regards,
Johannes Wegener

Hi,
I'm interested in developing a real-time Audio-DSP-Box. I would also like to use the CTAG face2|4 for that application. I'm not completely sure how much performance a 4 Channel In/4 Channel Out real-time DSP Box needs - but I think the DSPs of the X15 would come in handy!