Installing gdb in Beaglebone wireless

I am struggling to install gdb on Beaglebone wireless.

Whenever I use apt-get install gdb I get the error …

You don’t have enough disk space on /var/cache/apt/archive/.

I have tried deleting all that I see but the error returns.

I have used apt-get autoclean , and apt-get clean with no luck. I am new to linux so I am sure the answer is easy but I cannot find the solution.

I am using putty , so there might be some hidden files etc that I am not seeing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Hello,

Maybe try to sudo apt install gdb and if that does not work, try to sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade first.

Seth

P.S. What does df -h show on your board? If you have a lack of space, there is a script. sudo /opt/scripts/tools/grow_partition.sh First use git pull in the /opt/scripts/tools/ directory.

Thank you.

I tried apt update, apt clean and it did not work. I needed to create more space, so by deleting some of the log files I was able to create the space and it installed.

Thank you for your reply.

1 Like

Hello @BryanJ ,

Seth here. How did you use whatever tool to erase used up resources? Did you use du or another tool?

I am asking b/c I am currently trying to compile, not cross-compile, OpenCV on the BBAI and I keep running into a similar issue.

I used sudo apt autoclean && sudo apt clean but I think this is only cleaning/erasing so much of my used memory.

Anyway…if you have any ideas, please do reply.

Seth

Hi Seth,

So I think the issue is that there simple is not enough space available.

So using putty I used the du -h command to examine the disc usage. I realized that there was a log directory that was using most of the space. I then deleted the log directory using rm -r dirname

That freed up a lot of space and I was then able to install.

So it is really due to the space available and apt autoclean does not create enough space you probably need more.

@BryanJ ,