Interfacing BBB with Windows Computer

Hello everyone.

I’m pursuing a college project which requires the use of a single board computer. I have worked with Arduino ATMEGA2560 on my computer with OS Windows 7. I’m new to BBB. I have read the “Getting Started with BBB” on its website. Gone through the wiki page that instructs how to install a distro of Ubuntu on BBB. But I still have some major questions about BBB interfacing with my computer. The questions are:

1- BBB comes shipped with default linux distro installed on it, that is Angstrom. My computer has OS Windows 7. How can I create an interface between BBB and my computer? If I want to control BBB from my PC as I did with Arduino - which was plug & play?

2- I want to work in C++ with my BBB. Does that require IDE? Any software that I need to install on my PC?

3- Does my computer need to have Angstrom too or it can work with BBB (Angstrom) and its own OS as Windows 7?

4-If I am to switch to another OS for the BBB, should I shift to Ubuntu? Or Angstrom will work fine?

My requirements for this project are high speed processing and memory storage which the arduino can not provide.

If you can please answer the questions or direct me to some links for further reading. I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks.

The question is, what you plan to do exactly. There is e.g. a nice process control software available at http://openapc.com/ which is also available for BBB/Ubuntu ARMHF.

With this software you shoukld be able to set up a project that “interfaces” between host PC and BBB.

Right now the basic plan is to

-control my Input and Output pins on BBB

-generate PWM for a DC motor

by programming in c++ using my window 7 computer. I have understood the interfacing. This link was very useful:
http://inspire.logicsupply.com/p/beaglebone-getting-started_3.html

But now my questions:
-how to do programming in c++

• choice of library to use. Also, do I require Cloud9 IDE?

Cloud9 is JavaScript only.