Is BBB compatible with Arduino Sensors?

Hello,

I am new to this BBB thingy. Previously I used Arduino. Planning to shift to BBB. Does BBB support arduino sensors e.g. Ultrasound sesnsor, PIR sensor etc.

The Beaglebone black will support anything you can physically attach, and have a driver for.

So while maybe that driver does not exist for the beaglebone black currently, you can always write one.

The previous response is correct. Let me elaborate a little more on his answer. The sensors that are available for the Arduino all have an interface that is used to communicate with them. Some use SPI, some I2C, some just a plain old analog to digital converter connection. The BBB does in fact have all of the communication protocols that the Arduino has. However, the libraries you get with the sensors for use in your Arduino will not work with the BBB. You will have to write your own drivers to communicate with those sensors.

As far as physical connections, all you need are some jumper wires to run from the shield pins to the header pins of the BBB. You won't be able to just plug it in as is, as the communication protocols needed are on different pins.

Currently I am using the GPRS shield, the TFT shield, and the SD shield with my BBB. Finding the correct pins to connect them to was a breeze. Writing the code was more complex, but I use my BBB in bare metal mode. I'm sure the Linux drivers would be much easier :wink:

If memory serves. I seem to recall someone “ported” Ardiono “stuff” to the beaglebone black. What, where, and how, I do not remember. BUt IMHO that’s all a bloody mess anyway . . .

Wattup,