Is it possible to use BeagleBone Blue without an internet connection?

I’ve never used BeagleBone’s before and I work in a lab with no internet connection, trying to get started with BeagleBone Blue boards for a project. The lab has Windows 10 computers, USB cables, 12V adapters, SD card readers, and an external CD drive. I have access to another facility with a secure internet connection for downloading and I can use an external CD drive to transfer files. I thought I could download everything off of the secure connection, transfer to the lab, and install but I’m having problems. When I tried to run the executable to install the Windows drivers, it failed because of no connection. Also I tried to install Chrome, required for the browsing the web server running on the board, and it also failed. I was able to install Putty and connect using an SSH terminal (192.168.7.2, debian, temppwd). But it didn’t look like their was anything loaded. I found a bin folder in the root directory that was empty.

The Getting Started instructions that came with the board says to connect the board to a computer with a USB cable and then connect to the internet. I obviously can’t do that and I’m beginning to wonder if these boards will work at all without an internet connection. I hoping someone has a clever solution for me to work with these limitations.

Are you allowed to set them up in the internet-connected lab and then take them to the airgapped area ?

The default install is Debian and includes quite a lot. They’re just isn’t anything in your home directory.

As with everything it’s much easier with internet, but you can copy files to a cdr and then load them on the BB via your host computer that you SSH from. It’s a pain but I’ve done it. Dependency management is hell, of course. As you’ve seen so far, you don’t need windows drivers, so you should be pretty good.