Is there a way to add an animated boot logo for a Debian install on the BeagleBone Black?

I’m a little new to the process of working with embedded linux systems and I’m trying to make a project with the BeagleBone Black. I’ve looked around several different forums and I can’t seem to find anything in regards to an animated boot logo. If possible, I would like to replace the image of Tux during the BBB boot up process with a GIF. Is this possible with something like Plymouth? Do I need to get a Debian image that has a Graphical Desktop? I also want to try and see if I can get a quiet log-on where you don’t see any of the intro text:

My ideal process would be:

1. Power on with no command line text output
  2. Animated boot logo
  3. Silent logon with no command line text output
  4. Boot into a QT application

HI @Fishayyy ,

For a splash screen, plymouth is your best option.

You can nuke that text via:

/etc/motd

and

/etc/issue

adding ‘nologo’ to your boot args will nuke tux…

ps, after watching fosdom 2022, directfb2 might be a cool option too… https://directfb2.github.io/

Regards,

1 Like

Awesome, I’ll start looking through some of that and let you know if I have any issues. I see your name EVERYWHERE in the linux world so I’m glad to make first contact! Your work is phenomenal and I hope to learn a lot through using it.

BTW: I did notice the tux’s image show up as logo.gif in the kernel source’s in the documentation directory. (Updating the boot-up tux image is also on my long term to-do)

Are you referencing this?

Is that actually used to build the splash logo on the boot screen? Or is it just used somewhere in the process of making the documentation?