Newbie Question Using BBB for Telemetry

Hi all, first off, I’m not a programmer so the reason for this question. I want to see if there is already a BBB application to allow it to be used for telemetry and or could be modified for what I need.

I am able to supply an interface board that can go from the headers of the BBB to do all the necessary level changes so as not to “destroy” the board by over voltage inputs etc.
This is what I need to do.

Analogue
DC Voltage measurements in the ranges of 9-15V and 44-55V (multiple inputs)
DC Amperage measurements in the ranges of 2-20A and 40-60A (multiple inputs)
Temperature input (multiple)

Digital In
Again multiple inputs for an On or Off state

Digital Out
Multiple out for switching relays, depending on both Analogue and Digital input levels.

Be able to display the measurements and some control of outputs etc via a Web Page.

Hoping someone can help

Regards
Ian

I am a programmer, and have hands on with doing a few projects that fall into this category. What you’re attempting to do does not sound very hard at all. But it could turn out to be fairly complex in nature. Tacking a few ADC values, GPI value as well as “toggling” a few GPO’s is not that hard. Where it gets complex is in doing this smartly over a web app. By “smartly” I mean securely.

There is NodeRED, which I’ve heard is designed for engineers who have limited or even no programming experience. But, being a programmer, I’m not really keen on these types of hardware / software abstraction. So I know very little about it. It may be something for you to look into though.

There is another way to go about this bit is slightly more complex, and would require an additional “server” somewhere. This server could be another embedded Linux system if you so wished. Such as a beaglebone.