PocketBeagle IoT

Hey all,

First up – I’m a Beagle newbie. More than that, I have some serious black spots when it comes to tech, coding, etc. But I enjoy the pain of learning, so here I am…

Basically my question is in regards to a project I’m scoping out involving a PocketBeagle. Essentially, I was to use a Pocket as a wearable device, running a display that will periodically display information from a server. For that, I’ll need some kind of IoT connectivity – WiFi or Bluetooth.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Adam
adamandothers.com

Sabi ni Adam noong Monday, November 6, 2017 at 10:01:08 AM UTC+8:

Hey all,

First up – I’m a Beagle newbie. More than that, I have some serious black spots when it comes to tech, coding, etc. But I enjoy the pain of learning, so here I am…

Basically my question is in regards to a project I’m scoping out involving a PocketBeagle. Essentially, I was to use a Pocket as a wearable device, running a display that will periodically display information from a server. For that, I’ll need some kind of IoT connectivity – WiFi or Bluetooth.

From my initial digging, there’s no immediate solution specific to the Pocket. It’s very important that the module or board is small enough to embed in a wearable device (in this instance, a baseball cap).

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Adam
adamandothers.com

One way to do it would be with a USB breakout board, available from Adafruit, or possibly the HUZZAH ESP8266 Breakout which also shows up in that link. Not having done enough reading, I can’t be sure how to interface the HUZZA and the like with the Pocket, let alone if they would work. The USB breakout boards, OTOH, in conjunction with a WiFi dongle, probably will, and in fact show up in a Google search. That does involve a dongle though, which would look kinda odd sticking out of a baseball cap :).