Problems modifying device tree (3.14 kernel)

I’m trying to migrate from the 3.8 kernel to the 3.14 kernel on a board very similar to the Beaglebone Black, but I’m running into some issues with device trees. In 3.8, I used a (slightly modified) LCD4 device tree overlay to get an LCD up and running with my board. As far as I know, device tree overlays are now a thing of the past and this is no longer possible. I don’t intend to ever change device tree configuration while the system is running, so it seemed like the best option would be to make an additional device tree that is loaded with the kernel.

I’ve never worked with device tree files before, so I made a rough attempt at turning the overlay into a fixed device tree file. Here’s a link to the contents of the file. I based the syntax off of some online resources and some existing dts files for pin-muxing and driver config (am335x-boneblack.dts as an example), but when I try to build the dtb file I just get an “Unable to parse input tree” error. It seems like the error always occurs on the first line past the /dts-v1/ line in the dts file (i.e. The error is thrown on the first #include line, but if the #include lines are deleted the error is thrown on the &am335x_pinmux line), and since there is no description or anything I really have no idea where the problems are in my source file.

From the looks of the am335x-boneblack.dts file, it isn’t extremely complicated to add new pin muxing or configuration if the basic device tree configuration is already handled (by the dtsi files) but I haven’t really had any luck. If anyone could take a look at my file and let me know why it’s completely failing I would really appreciate it.

Are you building this in a kernel source directory? Both the *.dtsi
files you are including reference a very large chain of other files that
all need to be present to properly build the device tree. And of course
the am33xx.dtsi and am335x-bone-common.dtsi files both need to be