RE: DSP on beaglebone black

Hello,
I am building a hearing aid and wish to include DRC (Dynamic range compression), NR (Noise reduction), and destroy Acoustic feedback. Since, I am a college student, I have basic knowledge of linux, but new to programming a MCU. I wish to gather knowledge about how to implement DSP on a BBB.
Since literature out there on internet is vast, there seems to be no actual starting point for me. Any help on how to input the sound waves (i.e. output of microphone) to the BBB and process it and output it back to standard 3.5 mm stereo jack, would be greatly appreciate.
Thanks.

Just so you know, there is no DSP on the BeagleBoneBlack. So I am assuming you mean a DSP function.

Gerald

Yes, I do mean the DSP function. I need to know how I can input the analog audio signal - process it (i.e. How do I implement the DSP algorithms) and send it out to an audio jack.
Thanks.

Purchase the Audio cape first

Is audio cape compatible with BBLK. I think I need to disable the hdmi functionality in order to use the audio cape.

yes. It was discussed here already

Thanks for the suggestion.
Now as I stated earlier I m a beginner, I don’t know where to start with programming. I refer to the part where I need to sample the data coming from a microphone and implement dsp algorithms. Please point me in right direction or some references. Thanks again.

probably you should have a look at arecord sources to figure out how to capture samples from a sound card

Hello,
I was researching within the thread and found out that a USB audio dongle might be a cheap alternative to buying a Audio cape. I just wanted to know if it would work for my hearing aid application (i.e. to send an input to beaglebone black and receiving it back via the same USB audio dongle)
p.s. I am not looking to get a very high quality sound, just need to make it work.
Thanks in advance.
Priyank.

Hi Priyank,

two things to consider: