Reading a uart on the command line of Angstrom and a BeagleBone

Hello everyone. I posted earlier about something and everyone was so helpful I thought I would give it another go.

I am trying to setup my first uart connections to the beagle bone. A GPS sensor for reading out GPS sentences from the device. I have confirmed it works with other micro controllers and my windows PC. However, I have no experience with the command line tools in linux to read this stuff. Which is the first step I want to take before writing software around it.

I have read a bunch of stuff about stty, setserial and other tools to read a uart, but have had just plain NO LUCK.

I have attached my GPS Tx line to my P9, pin 26 (UART1_RXD). As far as I have read, this should be the correct pin for this. I have also used the power and ground lines from the BeagleBone into a bread board. Confirmed it is Tx’ing data at 9600 with an external serial connection (via windows) and my oscilloscope. I would like todo the following:

1. Setup the uart connection.
  • Does this require setting a mode on the pin for muxing?
  • How do I read the data?

I have found several articles on talking to a serial device, but none that are clear to me on how to read.

Thanks in advanced.

Cheers,

Gregg

man stty? Maby

I did, (via google as man isn’t on angstrom)… the data confused me… However, I did just find this thread which explained setting the muxing settings:

http://groups.google.com/group/beagleboard/browse_thread/thread/7f3ef67362bfda71/bff6ba02dffcbf0f?#bff6ba02dffcbf0f

However, it’s in python and I don’t know how todo it via the command line still, but working on it now.

More info:

I have started to figure out setting the mux mode correctly. However, I am trying to write mode 0 with input. Which I think is 32 based on converting 0x00100000 to a binary number so I us:

echo 32 > /sys/kernel/debug/omap_mux/uart1_rxd

and I then cat the file with the result: