Regarding digitalRead in bonescript

I am playing with GPIO and digitalRead in bonescript. I noticed that although digitalRead is fairly fast the callback function takes a while. I am asking the group if I should wait for the callback to be triggered or just calling digitalRead is enough!.

Thanks

How would you plan on getting the information back from digitalRead if not by using a javascript callback ?

Also, more information is needed. e.g. what is your program goal ?

The function digitalRead returns the value of the pin does it not? Basically what I ask is, if reading the return value of the digitalRead is enough, of should I capture the value of the pin via a callback function.
I am writing a small program where I interchange the mode of a pin as input and output. I am having difficulties doing that. I am a newbie in javascript, but I am wondering if that is possible at all.
Thanks in advance

The function digitalRead returns the value of the pin does it not?

This I do not know first hand as I have never used bonescript. What I can say is that typically, when calling an executable directly from Nodejs ( which is what bonescript uses - Nodejs ), you need to use a callback to capture the output of that executable if you wish to use that value from within the script.

What I do imagine, as far as how bonescript works. Is that it directly calls an executable of some sort ( custom, or Linux command ), which then returns a value depending on which mode the pin is set as. Jason Kridner should know for sure since he wrote the library, and I could be wrong. I never really examined his code all that well, before I decided it was not for me.

Basically what I ask is, if reading the return value of the digitalRead is enough, of should I capture the value of the pin via a callback function.