Sending and receiving messages using CAN on BBB

Hello,

I am planning to use Beaglebone black and implement either a CAN CAPE or a CAN transceiver to be able to send and receive messages for our project. The machine I would like to send messages to uses CAN FD . Is BBB compatible with CAN FD as well and where would I begin since I am very new to this.

Where would I be writing my script to send messages over CAN?

Please help

The Black is not CAN FD compatible.

This link is old and since the Beagle world is like Microsoft Windows likely no longer compatible if it’s more than a few years back.

http://www.embedded-things.com/bbb/enable-canbus-on-the-beaglebone-black/

But there might be enough to get you going at whatever the latest flavour of the month (week?) is for the BBB OS. (Sarcasm intended!)

Once you have the hardware enabled:

https://elinux.org/Can-utils

This gets you access from the command line to CAN messages.

And then there’s this:

https://github.com/linux-can/can-utils

image001.jpg

2 Likes

@gurpreety Most new micros these days that have CAN, come with CAN FD. However more often than not these are just sending stand CAN 2.0B messages. CAN FD is backwards compatible, If your machine is not actually making use of the newer CAN FD functionality, then the BBB will be able to talk with it.

If you really need CAN FD then you will need the BeagleBone AI-64 which has around 11 CAN-FD buses available on the header, depending on what else you are using. You will of course need to provide CAN transceivers .

Programming CAN is very simple. you can use the can-utils commands from the command line for simple scripting. If you want to write your own software then search for SocketCAN.

It is pretty simple to use in C and you can also get a socketcan module for python (never used this) if you prefer that.

1 Like