Signal Processing on the BBB

Hi guys,

I’m totally new to MCUs and the Beagleboard and I’m a little overwhelmed by the amount of information out there.
For a class project, I need to sample a signal (the beat signal out of a FMCW radar module, the frequency is not higher that audio), detect its frequency, and use this frequency value to calculate the range and/ or speed of my target.

I’m pretty sure that I can use either the beagleboard-xm or the beaglebone black for this, but I’m confused about a couple things. I hope that I can get help here!

Can I just use the CPU on the BB-xM or the BBB to sample the audio and do the necessary processing or would I have to use the xM’s DSP or an audio cape for the BBB? I have written simple DSP applications in C before, and so far I have used JACK to get my samples from the sound card. Could I do the same thing on the Beagleboard? Would grabbing samples for computations in a C program also work by using ALSA?

In order to detect the frequency of my signal, I believe that I will have to take chunks of the signal, take the FFT and detect the peak in the resulting array. Can I do these operations on a beagleboard without significant delay?

Thanks for your help!

Dennis

This is something I have been reading about rather than having done it
myself, so I may be wrong about details, but here's what I understand.
The Doppler radar setup will give you a beat frequency between your
tranmitter and receiver. IIRC, Doppler frequency is 1/(1+2v/c), so for
instance when an object moving at 1m/s is lit up by 5GHz, the
receiver will return a 33Hz beat frequency signal. This is within
audio range, so you can read it with a sound cape or USB dongle, or
directly via BBB digital or analog I/O pins, if you're careful about
not burning them up with excess voltage.

You can get the speed by measuring the frequency, but you can't get
actual distance unless you do time-of-flight measurement on